top of page
  • Writer's pictureShailee Shah

Get to Know Me + Update!

Updated: Jun 27, 2020

Hi everyone! Hope all of you are healthy, happy, and safe! Some of you wanted to know how operating sparkle pantries during the pandemic is, so I decided to create this blog post!





For those of you that are new, my name is Shailee Shah and I am currently a rising junior attending Hillsborough High School in Hillsborough, New Jersey. I have constructed two “Sparkle Pantries” so far, one in Edison NJ, and the other in Somerville NJ. My goal for this project is to create as many pantries as I can in the neighborhood around me and play my part in society. The Little Free Pantry facilitates neighbors helping neighbors, and building the community.


This small wooden structure that is planted into the ground is something that brings the whole neighborhood together. The Sparkle Pantry is most often for those who are not easily able to meet everyday food and personal needs. This can also be that extra “cup of sugar” that some kids may have never gotten. I have seen my classmates in my school lagging behind and not being able to focus due to their hunger. Since some families can barely support their kids due to low incomes, the Sparkle Pantry will be a key factor to enhancing the society. The specialty about this pantry is that it is accessible to people at all times. Anyone can supply the pantry and anyone who needs it can take goods for themselves.


During these unexpected circumstances, we can see that many people are utilizing these pantries. The unprivileged sector of the community can come to the pantry to find resources such as food, household products, and toiletries. These pantries are sanitized daily to reduce germs and ensure the safety of the givers/takers. I feel proud that during these times, people are still thinking about others and donating. I feel blessed to be living in a united community. However, stocking these pantries requires more funding.


There are various ways to contribute to this cause- through materials, money, and support. Even sharing this story on your social media pages with proper credits will be greatly appreciated. If you want to be a part of this incredible journey, please contact me through my email thesparkmomentum@gmail.com .




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page